Guided by the principles and aims of our Mission Statement, the staff at Claughton St Mary’s Catholic Primary School have developed a curriculum that will be delivered through theme-based units of work, based on the National Curriculum Programmes of Study.

We aim to:

  •  have a highly relevant and meaningful curriculum, which is differentiated and well matched to individual needs which enables pupils to become successful, independent learners and flourish in 21st century society.
  • inspire and challenge pupils to want to achieve their best in all areas of learning and take risks without fear of failure.
  •  develop the pupils skills of enquiry, creative thinking, reasoning, problem solving, information processing and evaluation across all aspects of the curriculum.
  •  give pupils the choice and the opportunity to become fully immersed in self-directed learning.


Curriculum Maps

At Claughton St Mary’s Catholic Primary School we operate a 4-year rolling cycle of themed units, fulfilling all the National Curriculum Programmes of Study. These will be delivered in engaging, creative and cross-curricular lessons.

The maps are working documents and may be built upon and evolve over time.

The Curriculum Maps are published below.

Staff will use the Lancashire ‘Key Learning’ documents to ensure that age-appropriate skills and knowledge are considered when planning lessons and units of work.

Reception children will be given the opportunity to display key skills towards the EYFS Prime Areas of Learning, whilst following the themed-units along with the rest of KS1.


Early Years Foundation Stage:

At St Mary’s we strongly encourage children to become confident and independent learners. This begins at the very start of their school lives in the Foundation Stage.

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the stage in your child’s learning from birth to 5 years old. This is the curriculum we follow in your child’s first year at school. We call this the Reception year. We aim to prepare the children for the rest of their school life. Children are provided with a range of experiences and opportunities to gain everyday skills and develop in all areas of learning. We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. A link to the parents’ guide can be found here.

For more information about our Early Years children please visit the Class 1 page to view photographs of the children learning through a vibrant and rich curriculum.

The National Curriculum

Children in years 1 to 6 follow the National Curriculum 2014. This is a statutory requirement for all children in Local Authority maintained and aided schools in England. It sets out what should be taught in each year of compulsory schooling.

To see a summary of the key learning in each year group please use the links below:

Key Learning in Year 1

Key Learning in Year 2

Key Learning in Year 3

Key Learning in Year 4

Key Learning in Year 5

Key Learning in Year 6